“Communication, Diversity and Tolerance”

November 16 - 18, 2017

Universidade Católica Portuguesa (UCP) / Catholic University of Portugal, Lisbon


The fifteenth edition of the IBERCOM Conference takes place from 16 to 18 November, 2017 at the School of Human Sciences of the Catholic University of Portugal, in Lisbon, within the framework of consolidating the Iberian-American space for reflection and debate in Communication studies. Taking “Communication, Diversity and Tolerance” as its central theme, the event is dedicated to exploring products and processes of communication from different thematic axes – the historical, local and global unfoldings, the production of memories, trends in consumption and experiences, the implications for the political and economic spheres, the sociocultural dynamics, the new mediascapes – connected in an increasingly diverse world. It aims to highlight the role of Communication Studies in fostering tolerance and respect for differences.

This Conference is organized by ASSIBERCOM – the Iberian-American Communication Association in partnership with the CECC - Center for Communication and Culture Studies, School of Human Sciences, Catholic University of Portugal.

We invite post-graduate and graduate students* to submit expanded abstracts of papers that address the thematic axes above in articulation with the designated issue area of one of the IDTs (Ibercom Thematic Divisions) selected from the 13 IDTs listed below:

The ITDIs - The Ibercom Thematic Divisions:
IDT 1 - Communication Epistemology, Theory and Methodology
IDT 2 – Communication, Politics and Political Economy
IDT 3 – Communication and Citizenship
IDT 4 – Educommunication
IDT 5 – Communication and Cultural Identity
IDT 6 – Communication and Digital Culture
IDT 7 – Discourses and Aesthetics of Communication
IDT 8 – Communication Reception and Consumption
IDT 9 – Organizational Communication Studies
IDT 10 – Audio-visual Communication
IDT 11 – Journalism Studies
IDT 12 – Communication and Media History
IDT 13 – Folk Communication

* Co-authored papers should include at least one PhD or DSc.

- 15 July 2017:  Deadline for submission of expanded abstracts
- 7 August 2017:  Notification of accepted abstracts
- 10 August - 15 November 2017:  Registration payment
- 01 September - 15 October 2017: Sending of full papers for presentation in the event
and publication in the event e-book (with ISBN)
- 16 - 18 November 2017: XV IBERCOM Conference

CECC - Centre for Communication and Culture Studies, School of Human Sciences, Catholic University of Portugal
Palma de Cima, 169-023, Lisbon, Portugal

For more information about submissions and registration, please visit the official webpage of the Conference:

Maria Immacolata Vassallo de Lopes
President of the XV IBERCOM Conference

Organizing Committee (FCH|UCP):
Carla Ganito
Catarina Duff Burnay
Eduardo Cintra Torres
Nelson Ribeiro
Nuno Brandão
Patrícia Dias
Sónia Pereira

Organizing Committee (ASSIBERCOM):
Gisela Grangeiro da Silva Castro
Margarida Maria Krohling Kunsch
Maria Immacolata Vassallo de Lopes
Margarita Ledo Andión

International Scientific Committee

Antonio Hohlfeldt – Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul, Brasil
Carlos Mauricio Arroyo Gonçalves - Universidade Católica Boliviana San Pablo Regional Cochabamba, Bolívia
Delia Maria Crovi Druetta - Universidade Nacional Autónoma de México – Presidente ALAIC
Enrique Bustamante – Universidade Complutense de Madri, Espanha – Presidente da AE-IC
Fernando Paulino - Universidade de Brasília, Brasil
Francisco Rui Cadima - Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Francisco Sierra Caballero - Universidade de Sevilla, Espanha – Presidente da ULEPICC
Gustavo Cimadevilla - Universidade Nacional de Río Cuarto, Argentina
Isabel Ferin Cunha - Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
Joaquim Paulo Serra – Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal - Presidente da SOPCOM
José Marques de Melo – Universidade Metodista de São Paulo, Brasil
Karina Olarte Quiroz – Universidade Católica Boliviana San Pablo - Presidente da CONFIBERCOM
Lucia Castellón – Universidade Mayor, Consejo Nacional de Ciencias y Tecnología (CONICYT), Chile
Margarida Maria Krohling Kunsch – Universidade de São Paulo, Brasil
Margarita Ledo Andión – Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Espanha – Presidente da AGACOM
Marialva Barbosa – Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil – Presidente da INTERCOM
Miguel de Moragas – Universidade Autônoma de Barcelona, Espanha
Moisés de Lemos Martins – Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Nelson Ribeiro – Universidade Católica Portuguesa, Portugal
Raquel Paiva de Araújo Soares – Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brasil